The existing SR 4001 Suspension Bridge, listed in the National Register of Historic Places by PHMC in 1978, carries Little Pine Creek Road (SR 4001) over Little Pine Creek in English Center, Pine Township, Lycoming County. The 300-ft-long bridge, called locally the Lower Bridge at English Center, built in 1891, remains a distinctive example of a short span eye-bar cable suspension bridge. However, the existing bridge is structurally distressed, posted for reduced loads and has been intermittently closed to traffic.
Due to its unique design and historical importance the evaluation of possible solutions requires a thorough understanding of structural analysis and a context sensitive mindset. Our project specific plan includes early coordination with project stakeholders, a Pro-Team approach to the alternatives analysis and a comprehensive feasibility study. By producing a feasibility report that is both an engineering and environmental document, set to the standard required by PHMC, it will become the backbone of our project approach throughout the project's life. This will result in less effort in Preliminary Engineering and Final Design phases and result in an early start to the Construction Phase.
|Length of Main Span||300 Feet|
|Total Project Length||300 Feet|
|Lanes on Existing Structure||One Lane|